Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


List of state GST codes

Want to find out the GST code of your state? Here is an article to help you. 

State GST codes change as per changes in the status of states and union territories. For instance, when Daman and Diu merged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli, its State Code changed from 25 to 26. 

GST in India

The Goods and Services Tax (GST) came into effect from July 1, 2017, under the BJP government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. It is an “Indirect Tax” paid by customers to manufacturers, service providers, and sellers of goods and services, which is then remitted to the government. These goods and services include clothing items, food, electronics, and transportation, to name a few. It is a value-added tax where the expense is added by sellers into the cost of the final goods and services which customers then buy inclusive of the GST. 

This single tax eliminated the need for businesses to pay multiple taxes that were previously levied by the central and state governments.

State codes under GST

When GST was implemented, around 8 million registered taxpayers under the state VAT law migrated to GST registration. This was done to ensure absolute compliance and better administration under a single authority. Before this, respective state tax authorities assigned a unique Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) to dealers, and a service tax registration was assigned to service providers by the Central Board of Excise and Custom (CBEC). 

However, under the new GST regime, every registered business is assigned a Goods and Services Tax Identification Number (GSTIN) that is unique to their business. It is a 15-digit provisional ID that helps streamline invoicing to improve efficiency in tax filing. It also makes you eligible to avail of a loan to expand your business. 

The 15-digit GSTIN comprises of a 2-digit state code, 10-digit PAN number, 2-digit alphanumeric number signifying the total number of registrations in the state (the second being Z by default), and lastly, a 1-digit checksum value to detect errors (either number of the alphabet).

List of GST State Codes

The GST state code which constitutes the first two digits of the Goods and Services Tax Identification Number is prescribed by the Indian Census of 2011. As of January 26, 2020, it can be any number between 01 to 38. 

Here are the GST State Codes for your reference:

State NameState Code
Jammu and Kashmir1
Himachal Pradesh2
Uttar Pradesh9
Arunachal Pradesh12
West Bengal19
Madhya Pradesh23
Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu (after merging)26*
Andhra Pradesh (Prior to the division)28
Tamil Nadu33
Andaman and Nicobar Islands35
Andhra Pradesh (After the division)37
Ladakh (Newly Added)38

*Up until January 26, 2020, the state code of UT of Daman & Diu was 25 and that of Dadra & Nagar Haveli was 26. 

All registered businesses must stay aware of updated GST state codes to avail the benefits of the GST regime. 

Know your Jurisdiction

The consolidation of state GST and central GST in India is based on the division of the taxpayer base. This guarantees that taxpayers are liable to a single tax, whether it is state or centre. 

Here’s how businesses can check their GST jurisdiction online:

  1. Visit CBIC GST: Know Your Jurisdiction 
GST Jurisdiction portal
  1. Select your State, Zone, Commissionerate, Division, and Range
check state GST jurisdiction

How to apply for GSTIN

GSTIN is allocated to businesses or individuals at the end of the GST registration process. The registration can either be carried out by a GST Seva Kendra set up by the Indian government or by visiting the GST Online Portal

It requires you to fill out an application having the following details: 

how to apply for GSTIN

On approval by a GST officer, a GSTIN is assigned to you.

FAQ about State GST Codes

Who is eligible to pay GST?

Any business or individual exceeding a turnover of Rs. 40 lakhs in a financial year is eligible to pay GST. The annual aggregate turnover for special category states, which includes North Eastern and hilly states, is Rs. 20 lakhs. This threshold limit was Rs. 20 lakhs and Rs. 10 lakhs respectively.

Who is exempted from paying GST?

Businesses with an annual aggregate turnover of less than Rs. 40 lakhs are exempted from paying GST. Furthermore, there are a variety of items like fruits and vegetables, natural honey, salt, milk, etc on which GST is not applicable.

How much does it cost to obtain GSTIN?

GST registration is free of cost.